The Next Step!

I think I knew it was time for a change when I started to come home from work exhausted. Lifeless and drained of energy I would eat, shower and sleep. For nearly 4 months, that was the extent of my private life. Granted it doesn’t seem a particularly long period. For me however, 4 months is basically a lifetime. I’m not typically the type of person who enjoys dragging my feet from place to place. When I feel that something needs to change, I get moving pretty quick. Once I’ve taken the first step.

That’s always the hardest part. Stepping out into the unknown and starting to make a change. They’re both pretty scary concepts. On the one hand you know that something needs to be rectified. In reality, change is damn scary! How do you do it? Where do you start? How long will it take? There are infinite unknown variables.

To those of you the have read The Game by Neil Strauss, once accredited as the worlds best PUA (Pick Up Artist), you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. To those of you that haven’t read The Game don’t worry, but it really is a great read!

The hesitation before taking the first step is known as AA (Approach Anxiety). PUA’s deal with AA in only one way. They ignore it completely! You’ve basically got 3 seconds to stop thinking and take the plunge. Remove all hesitation, say yes and go for it! Essentially AA comes from overthinking a situation. She’s too pretty I don’t have a chance. What do I say? She’s not my type. There’s too many people there. etc, etc, etc….

Stop creating imaginary barriers! You don’t know anything – until you do!

Whilst I completely believe in taking the plunge into a conversation. I don’t believe that everything in life works the same way. You can’t just plunge into a new career or study law without any aptitude. There is, however, much to be said about ignoring the AA. Do not be afraid of the future. It’s time to get excited!

The question that may be tickling your brain tendrils, is how do I ignore my own mind? Well most people can’t, to be honest. If they could, the world would be a far less inhibited place. Our actions are inevitably subject to our thoughts and perceptions.  So to those people who cannot shut our their subconscious. Make considered decisions. Create a plan and work out the steps for successful implementation. With enough planning there’s no need to fear the unknown. (This may sound like a contradiction – but there is a difference between thinking and overthinking)

In anycase I’ve decided on my next step. If you read my last post (Education?) you’ll know that I was deciding how to move forward it my life. I’ve decided that I need to go back to school part time. Unfortunately I’ve missed the university application dates for this year. Now I have to apply for the 2015 season. As for the course, I’ve decided to study for an LLB depending on what options I have for subjects.

So that’s that. I have taken the next step to my future. I hope that you can do the same!

Ciao

Desh

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Marina Chetner

Be Inspired Through Travel

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

projectophile

\ˈprä-JECT-oh-fahyl\ (noun) 1. A lover of projects, especially those derived from scavenged materials and made more beautiful through paint, thread and sandpaper.

EifionJones

I will write about anything.

Press Start to Begin

Video game news, reviews, and thoughts

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

barrywax

Short Stories by Barry Wax

Words We Women Write

we do what we like and we like what we do

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

The many thinkings of Kara Rose

Telling you what to think about since '10

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

getsetandgo

Travel Blog of a Budget Traveler on a look out for Vegetarian Food

Violent Cases

An exploration of violence in film

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

Quite Alone

"To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world" – Freya Stark