Education?

Recently, I have been giving my future more thought than usual. I’m really not the sort of person to worry about the past or the future but then I’ll have to ponder it all sometime. So I’ve been thinking. What are my potential career paths? Likely income? When should I move into my own place? But no matter how much time I spend looking at the possibilities I cannot seem to make up my mind. There’s too much fluid in the mix. Too many “What ifs?”. If I was a naval navigator I’d be trying to map a course without knowing the currents or the weather. Dangerous business.

At least I know what I don’t want.

I don’t want to end up in an office environment. A 3×3 box that defines my daily life. I don’t want to come home every day feeling tired and dissatisfied that, in the end, I didn’t really change anything. Perhaps thats a selfish ideal, and these grandiose ideas are misplaced. Maybe that’s where I will end up regardless of my wishes.

But, I have the need to get out and create something, anything! Actually, to tell the truth, I know exactly what I want to create. I want to have my own music festival. A place for friends and family to get together and have a good time. Nothing overly extravagant, just some great music, good company and some real potential for a good time. Day to day, I want to be a planner. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Prom nights…. I don’t really mind what the events is so long as people will go and have a great time.

You would think that knowing where I wanted to end up would be enough to decide on how to get there. Honestly the choices worry me. On the one hand, I could take on an internship and hopefully get enough experience to get hired by an events company. On the other hand theres the education route, and I’m always in favour of improving myself. But what would I study and what would be the consequences. I’ve been working in a commercial position for about 5 months now and every job offer and interview I’ve received in this time has been sales based. Which, for the record, is not at all where I want to end up.

So what everything boils down to is whether or not to go back to school?

There is no real reason that I can’t do both so for the moment that’s what I’m planning to do. In the meantime I’ll be giving the whole predicament some fresh thought, and I’ll throw out my ideas when I get them.

Ciao,

Desh

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Marina Chetner

Be Inspired Through Travel

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

projectophile

\ˈprä-JECT-oh-fahyl\ (noun) 1. A lover of projects, especially those derived from scavenged materials and made more beautiful through paint, thread and sandpaper.

EifionJones

I will write about anything.

Press Start to Begin

Video game news, reviews, and thoughts

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

barrywax

Short Stories by Barry Wax

Words We Women Write

we do what we like and we like what we do

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

The many thinkings of Kara Rose

Telling you what to think about since '10

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

getsetandgo

Travel Blog of a Budget Traveler on a look out for Vegetarian Food

Violent Cases

An exploration of violence in film

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

Quite Alone

"To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world" – Freya Stark